Top 10 Books of 2014

Hello, everyone!

I am here to share with you my favorite books I read in 2014. I read a lot of great books this year and it was impossible to choose which ones were the best so these books are not in any order.

The  Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern – This book is a fun and magical read that had me hooked from the very first page. Possibly my favorite read of 2014

The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield – I did a full review of this book which you can read here. I absolutely loved the atmosphere of this gothic and creepy book. It is one that kept me reading late into the night.

Roses by G.R. Mannering – This book is a retelling of Beauty and the Beast. I was a bit skeptical of this book going into it because Beauty and the Beast is one of my favorite fairy tales of all time. However, I absolutely loved it. The ties to the original tale were subtle yet you could tell that it was inspired by Beauty and the Beast. I can’t wait to read more from this author.

The Two Princesses of Bamarre by Gail Carson Levine – This book was a very surprising read for me. I had not read anything from Levine in a long time and had forgotten why I loved her so much. This book was full of magical beings, magical items, dragons, and a ton of adventure. I didn’t want to put it down once I had started it.

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling – This is my first time reading the Harry Potter series and though I have only read the first two books in the series, I think this one will always be a favorite of  mine. It is such a great introduction into the series and made me very excited to continue on in the series.

An Echo in the Bone by Diana Gabaldon – This is the 7th book in the Outlander series and was just as amazing as the previous novels in this series. I absolutely can’t wait to continue on with the next book, Written in My Own Heart’s Blood. They are long books but well worth the time invested in them.

The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane by Kate DiCamillo – This is a re-read for me as I first read the book about 8 years ago. It is such a sweet story about a porcelain rabbit who learns to love. I love this book and always want to read it again as soon as I finish it.

Bridget Jones’s Diary by Helen Fielding – I had watched the movie before I read the book but I loved the book just as much as the movie. This is just a funny  and heartwarming book which made me love Bridget even more.

The Book Thief by Marcus Zusak – This book gave me all the feels. I absolutely adored this book and if you have not read it, I highly recommend it. The writing was beautiful and the story is one that stayed with me long after I finished the book.

Through the Woods by Emily Carroll – This was my favorite graphic novel that I read in 2014. It is made up of 4 creepy short stories that were a lot of fun. The pictures in the book are absolutely gorgeous and it is one I could see myself reading again and again.

Those were some of the amazing books that I read in 2014. What were some of your favorite books you read this year? Let me know down below.

Thanks for stopping by,

Happy Reading!

 

2 thoughts on “Top 10 Books of 2014

  1. Cheyenne, it’s Aunt Lorrie. I didn’t know you have a book blog! I am glad to see that some books I plan to read this year are on your “favorites from 2014” list. I just started “Night Circus”. I just finished Unbroken and it was so good! Hope you can squeeze it in somewhere! Keep blogging

Leave a Reply

