Book Review: The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield

The book that……I can’t believe I waited so long to read!

I am not posting a synopsis on here because I went into this book completely blind and I thought it really added to the story. However, if you wold like to read what it is about, you can read the synopsis here.

I gave this book 5 out of 5 stars on Goodreads. I had this book sitting on my shelf for almost 2 years. I think I had had it on my Goodreads TBR even before that. I always looked at it thinking I should read it. I don’t know why but I just kept putting it off. Finally I picked it up and I was hooked about 5 pages in. This quickly has become one of my top 5 reads of 2014. The writing is absolutely beautiful and the story is just so intriguing that you will want to keep reading just one more chapter way past your bedtime. I was not expecting this book to be as creepy as it turned out to be and I loved that eery feel that it kept throughout the book.

I absolutely loved the pacing in this book. It revealed new information relatively slowly but always gave you just enough to keep you reading furiously to find out what would turn up next. There was a little bit of a lull in the middle but I wanted to see hwo it would end so badly that I just kind of flew through that part. I also loved the vibrant characters in this book. There are a lot of characters but I felt that Diane did a great job giving them personality and really got the reader involved in their lives.

The worst part is that Diane Setterfield only has one other book! She also wrote Bellman & Black which sounds just as good as The Thirteenth Tale. I wanted to get it from my library right away but I think I will wait a bit so as to have one of her books to read in a couple months.

I would recommend The Thirteenth Tale to fans of Rebecca by Daphne DuMaurier or to anyone who likes gothic mystery novels.

Have you read this book or have you finished a book recently? What did you think about it? I would love to hear your thoughts!

Thanks for stopping by!

Happy Reading!

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield

Leave a Reply

