Winter Break 2014 TBR

Hello, everyone!

Today, I am going to tell you what books I am planning on reading over my winter break. December 10th is my last day of the semester and I am so excited! I love winter break because I don’t have work to go to or school so I have tons of time to read. This year, I have a hefty stack of books I would like to read but I think I have a chance of getting through quite a few of them. These are all books I own so they will count towards my Project 50 which is great. I picked out a lot of big books because when I am on break, it is much easier for me to make my way through a big book since I have more time to read. I also have a couple series I would like to read because I have been craving a good series lately.

photo 3(3)

Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy I am currently buddy reading this with my sister and so I will just keep reading a little bit here and there throughout break.

photo 2(3)

A Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin  I have been about 600 pages into this book for months now and haven’t picked it back up. I need to finish it and get going with the series because I absolutely loved the start of this one.

A Clash of Kings by George R. R. Martin  – If I finish the first one and feel up to moving on to this one, I would like to start really getting into this series.

photo 1(2)

Hood, Scarlet, and Tuck by Stephen R. Lawhead – This is a trilogy that I have been dying to get to for years and I just recently bought the books. It is a trilogy about Robin Hood with some Celtic mythology mixed in. It sounds amazing!

photo 3(4)

Little Bee by Chris Cleave – I don’t really know what this book is about but I think it is a lovely book and I would like to try and read it this winter.

Winter Sea by Susanna Kearsley – This book has a very interesting synopsis and it sounds like a perfect book to read during the winter.

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Ann Barrows and Mary Ann Shaffer – This is a book that I have had on my shelves for so long that I just really need to read it.

photo 4(2)

Steelheart by Brandon Sanderson – This will be my first Brandon Sanderson book I have read and I am excited to see what all the hype is about.

Horten’s Miraculous Mechanisms by Lissa Evans – This is a middle grade novel which has been on my Goodreads TBR for a while now and I recently picked it up at a library book sale. I am very excited about this one!

photo 2(2)

Intensity by Dean Koontz

The Gunslinger by Stephen King – This is a book I have been reading since the end of summer. I kind of lost interest in it for a while but I would like to finish it over break.

photo 1(3)These books are all books I will be attempting to read for the Classics Challenge over the break.

A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens – This summer, I bought this beautiful book with a bunch of Christmas stories by Charles Dickens. I have never read A Christmas Carol before and I can’t wait to read it from this beautiful book.

The Time Machine by H.G. Wells

The Island of Dr. Moreau by H.G.Wells

The Sign of the Four by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

So, those are all the books that I am planning on reading during my holiday vacation. It is an enormous stack so we will see how many I actually get to. What are you planning on reading next month? Have you read any of these books? Which ones should I get to first? Let me know down in the comments. I would love to hear from you!

 

Thanks for stopping by!

Happy Reading!

2 thoughts on “Winter Break 2014 TBR

  1. Good luck with your winter TBR! You have got some pretty big books to read!! =) Game of Thrones is great! Clash of Kings is a little slow but still pretty good. Anna K was pretty good but I didn’t like it as much as some people! Nice that you own those big books, I always feel rushed when I take out the monster books from the library! Enjoy your books!! =)

    -Angie (from CCC)

    • Thanks for the thoughts, Angie! So far, I am really enjoying Anna Karenina but I am only 80 pages in so I will see how it progresses.

      I feel the exact same way about checking out big books from the library. A really big one might take me a month or more to read so I try to buy the huge ones when I can.

Leave a Reply

