BookTubeathon: Wrap-up

Well, BookTubeathon is over….

I actually did pretty good all things considered. Like I said in my update, I was hardly able to read anything through the first few days of the read-a-thon. Once I was moved, I was able to read more and ended up with a pretty respectable page count.

The books I read this week were enjoyable but none of them blew me out of the water. Little Lord Fauntleroy was a bit slow-moving and was a lot less interesting than A Little Princess and The Secret Garden.

Between the Lines by Jodi Picoult and Samantha Van Leer again was enjoyable but wasn’t anything super exciting or surprising, just a fun read.

The final book that I started was The Eight by Katherine Neville. This is an adult suspense/mystery novel and I knew going into it that I probably would not be able to read it very quickly. That was an understatement. I had to move through this book slowly in order to not miss things in the very rich plot. I ended up reading 319 pages in it which brought me to the halfway point in the book. It has definitely been a really great read so far and things are starting to come together and to pick up in pace.

Overall, I read 2 1/2 books for a total of 909 pages. This is a totally respectable page count for me. I also was able to complete 3 challenges throughout the week and begin a fourth. I completed reading a book with a movie adaptation (Little Lord Fauntleroy) and read a book that had pictures and was from the genre I have read least this year (Between the Lines). I feel like, all in all, the BookTubeathon was a success.

How did you guys do in the read-a-thon or just in normal reading this week? Did you read any books that surprised you? Let me know in the comments.

Thanks for stopping by,
Happy Reading!

2 thoughts on “BookTubeathon: Wrap-up

  1. I was actually pleasantly surprised by ‘Metro 2033’ by Dmitry Glukhovsky (least read genre). It was a good read for something completely out of my comfort zone! I was actually surprised by ‘The Rats’ by James Herbert as well (recommended book)! Glad to hear you enjoyed BookTubeAthon – I think you’re the first person I’ve seen on WordPress doing a wrap-up post! Always fancied reading Little Lord Fauntleroy would you recommend it? 🙂

    • Wow! Both those books sound very interesting. I love it when I read a book that I wasn’t sure about and end up really enjoying it.

      I think that if you like Frances Hodgson Burnett’s other books such as The Secret Garden, you would probably enjoy Little Lord Fauntleroy. I ended up listening to most of it on a YouTube audiobook while I was packing and I actually really enjoyed it. I think the author has a very unique style of storytelling that comes out in all her books which I love.

Leave a Reply

