Book Review: Bridge to the Past and Borrowed Promises by Judith Ingram

The books that…..gripped me from the very beginning.

Bridge to the Past by Judith Ingram (Book 1 in The Moonseed Trilogy)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Synopsis: Victoria longs for a different life. Then her wish on a mysterious coin transports her back in time, into the body of a ruthless young woman accused of murdering her husband… Despite the perils of her new identity, Victoria discovers a new sense of belonging and adventure in the other woman’s world, especially when a handsome man captures her attention. But can borrowed love last for a lifetime? And how long will Victoria’s wish last?

I got this book as an e-book since I had received the second book in the trilogy for review and wanted to read the story from the beginning. Overall, I really enjoyed this book and gave it a solid 4 stars on Goodreads.

The writing, though beautiful, sometimes seemed so ornate and descriptive that I was stumbling over it. The writing is supposed to be narrating the main character’s thoughts so when there are deep philosophical statements being made about every little thing, it made the reading a bit cumbersome.

The plot while extremely interesting often does seem a little too perfect. When the two women finally switched places, they seemed to adjust to the new time period with no problems at all. A little confusion was there but then they just shrugged it off and were fine. If that happened to me, I would be freaking out and neither of them seemed even a little bit concerned. No one else seemed too worried that these women were suddenly different and didn’t follow cultural and social norms of the time period they were in when they had been doing that exact thing the day before.

Despite the many problems I had with the writing style of this book, I flew through it. I could not stop reading and every time I finished a chapter I wanted to immediately see what would happen in the next one.

Borrowed Promises by Judith Ingram (Book 2 in The Moonseed Trilogy)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This book ended up getting only three stars from me for a few reasons. While I still love the story, this book had quite a few flaws.

The dialogue of this book did not always seem natural and often made the character seem unbelievable. Especially between Brett and Stephanie. I have never heard teenagers talk quite so formally.

Also, every person in this book is remarkably gorgeous. And the author doesn’t mean on the inside. They are all described as having beautiful or handsome features and being strong or graceful as well as having a magnetism that everyone around them gets caught up in. Because of this, it sometimes felt like the characters are almost the same basic person just with a different name. I would have liked to see some variety in the personality and demeanor of the characters.

I found that with this book, time isn’t very consistent. There will sometimes be a break in a chapter and suddenly we are somewhere completely different with no explanation as to how long it has been since the previous scene. At one point it skips a month entirely without any explanation to what happened in that month. I wish that the author would have explained more about what was happening when time suddenly moved on or why it did so.

All in all, I enjoyed this book and want to finish the series. I am very interested in seeing how everything is going to wrap up. I hope that some of the flaws that were in this book will be fixed by the time the final book is written. I think that the author has a great story that she is writing but all of the little flaws end up building on one another and making the story less enjoyable.

I would suggest this series  for lovers of time-travel, romance, and just a fun and fast-paced read.

 

Have you had the opportunity to read these books? If so, what did you think?

Thanks for stopping by,

Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

