Book Review: Glittering Promises by Lisa T. Bergren

The book that….transported me.

This is the final book in The Grand Tour Series. I was sent a copy of this book to read in exchange for an honest review from NetGalley. I gave it 5/5 stars on Goodreads.

     Synopsis: For Cora Kensington, the Grand Tour was to be the trip of a lifetime. She discovered the family she  never knew she had and may have even found the love she longs for in Will. Yet her life has just become infinitely more challenging …

    

     Hounded by the stubborn pursuit of Pierre de Richelieu and journalists chasing the beguiling story of the newest American heiress, Cora fights to remain true to her past, reconcile her present, and still embrace her future. But as Will struggles with her newfound wealth, Cora begins to wonder if their love is strong enough to withstand all that threatens to pull them apart.

    

     As she glimpses the end of the tour, Cora knows it’s time to decide Who and what defines her … and who and what does not

 

 

I thought that this book was the perfect ending to a great trilogy. This book was paced extremely well for the most part, though there were a few times where it did get a bit dull. It felt like any time I got a little bored with what was happening, some new plot twist would pop up.

I loved the travel aspect of this trilogy. I love a book that can fully transport me to another time and place. This was probably my favorite part of this story. It took me all around Europe and allowed me to completely escape into Cora’s story.

While this book has strong Christian themes, they are woven throughout the story in a way that makes sense and seems natural. So many Christian books seem to put the message before the plot but this one worked it in in subtle and meaningful ways.

I would recommend this book to people who love travel and European architecture and history or are just looking for a coming of age story.

Have any of you begun this series at all? Have you read any books that have completely transported you to the time place? Let me know down in the comments. I love having books recommended to me.

Thanks for stopping by,

Happy Reading!

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Glittering Promises by Lisa T. Bergren

  1. Hey! I really like your blog. I’m quite new to it; found it in a topic on Goodreads.
    I love book blogs, and I’ve been looking through yours. You really made me wanna read this series! I’ll see if I can find a kindle version of it, and put it on my to-read-list.
    I’m following by e-mail from now on!

    – Felicia ( http://asillygirlsthoughts.weebly.com/ )

Leave a Reply

