Top 10 Books of 2013

I read a lot of really great books this year. I read 58 books and over 20,000 pages but I narrowed it down to what I believe is my top 10 of 2013

 

1. Outlander by Diana Gabaldon              
A truly fantastic time travel/ historical fiction novel. I read the next 5 in the series right after I finished this one.

2. The Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey
This book was the perfect winter read.

3. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald
I cannot believe I hadn’t read this book before this year. My sister had been bugging me to read it for a couple of years and I am so happy I did!

4. The Book of Lost Things by John Connolly
I wrote a review on this book which you can check out. I basically loved every part of this book.

5. Escape From Mr. Lemoncello’s Library by Chris Grabenstein
This book was like a middle grade Hunger Games and as soon as I was done with it, I wanted to pick it up again.

6. Glamorous Illusions by Lisa Tawn Bergren
This was one of the first books I read in 2013 and it remained one of my favorites of the year. It was a fun read about a girl whisked away from Montana to take a grand tour of Europe. A fantastic book that made me want to see the world.

7. The Skin Map by Stephen R. Lawhead
This is the first in a sci-fi series that I had been wanting to begin for a couple of years. This was a really intriguing beginning to what I hope will be a great series.
8. A Breath of Snow and Ashes by Diana Gabaldon
This is the sixth book in the Outlander series. I think that this was the best book since Outlander. It kept me on the edge of my seat and its size didn’t bother me at all as I sped through it.

9. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

10.Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte
The Bronte sisters also made this list. It was hard knowing which one I enjoyed more but I think that Jane Eyre was just a bit more engaging throughout the whole book. Both of these were great love stories with a hint of ghostly and gothic themes. Both were gorgeously written and left me with a lot of feels at the end of each.

It was a great year of reading for me. I was able to read a lot and I got to read a lot of truly amazing books. I only hope that 2014 will be just as awesome.

Get any of these books here and I will get a small commission.

Thanks for stopping by!
Happy Reading

Leave a Reply

