Top 5 Christmas Reads

I just wanted to share with you all a list of some of my favorite Christmas books. These would all make great gifts for a reader or even just another book to read during this beautiful holiday season.

1. The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien
I am actually just reading this book as I write this. I had never thought of this book as a Christmas or holiday read but it actually fits quite nicely. For me, the world of Middle Earth is a cozy place. Even amidst the orcs, goblins and trolls I find sweet comfort. There is something about reading an adventure book from the safety and coziness of my bed that just makes me happy. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone looking for adventure this time of year.

2. Let It Snow by Maureen Johnson, John Green, and Lauren Myracle
I am not usually a big fan of contemporary fiction but this book hit the spot for me. It just completely captures all the fun and excitement of Christmas. Plus it is written in three short stories which made it a quick and delightful read. Pick up some hot cocoa and this book and your set!

3. The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe by C.S. Lewis
This is a sort of an obvious read because it takes place in Narnia which is under the spell of a White Witch making it winter all the time. This book just fits so well with the feeling of winter. C.S. Lewis is one of my favorite authors and I just love his writing. This is one of my favorites in the Chronicles of Narnia series and is another sort of adventurous book that I love to read from the warmth of my own home.

4. The Lowlands of Scotland Series by Liz Curtis Higgs
This series has four books in it and is a historical fiction set in….you guessed it!….Scotland. This is a picture of the first book, Thorn in My Heart. This series was amazing. I read it all very quickly because it is full of romance and adventure and family drama. This book completely transported me to another time and place and would make a great read over the holidays. Just remember to pick up a box of tissues along with this series.

5. Stardust by Neil Gaiman
I read this book last year, just after Christmas. It was actually my first ever Neil Gaiman book and I absolutely loved it! This is another book filled with adventure and a sweet love story. This is another really fast and enjoyable read.

I hope that this post gave you some ideas for some good reading for the upcoming holiday weeks.
If you would like to buy any of these books, use this link and I will get a small commission: http://www.bookdepository.com/?a_aid=thebookthat

Thanks for stopping by,
Happy Reading!

