Book Review: An Abundance of Katherines by John Green

The book that…let me down.

Synopsis: When it comes to relationships, everyone has a type. Colin Singleton’s type is girls named Katherine. He has dated–and been dumped by–19 Katherines. In the wake of The K-19 Debacle, Colin–an anagram-obsessed washed-up child prodigy–heads out on a road trip with his overweight, Judge Judy- loving friend Hassan. With 10,000 dollars in his pocket and a feral hog on his trail, Colin is on a mission to prove a mathematical theorem he hopes will predict the future of any relationship (and conceivably win the girl).

I began this book last week and finally had the time to sit down and finish it. In the end, I rated it 2 out of 5 stars.

Okay, this was my first John Green book ever and I have to say I was a little disappointed. Now, I knew that there would probably be aspects of the book that I wouldn’t really like since contemporary fiction isn’t my favorite genre, though I was intrigued by the synopsis. What I didn’t know was how pointless the book would seem to me. This is a very short book with less than 300 pages but I felt like nothing happened and it took me way too long to read for such a small book.

I thought the characters were likeable but sort of unrealistic and the book just moved very slowly because I didn’t really know what I was waiting for. To me this was just a book about someone who has gotten dumped a lot and doesn’t like the feeling. I didn’t know what the point of the story was.

The one thing that I did like was the humor. John Green is a funny man and his humor came out a lot in this book. This helped make the book much more enjoyable. Overall, it was an OK book but did not live up to expectations.

Leave a Reply

