My TBR Jar

So, I made this about a week ago because I saw it on Youtube and loved the idea. I just found this cute little bucket at my local Dollar Tree and thought it was perfect. In case you don’t know what a TBR jar is, it is a jar or container in which you write down all the books you want to read (however many you decide on) on small slips of paper. Then, once a month or whenever you decide to, you just pull a slip of paper out of the jar and that is what you will read next. Some people have also used this for books they want to buy as well.

Here is my lovely TBR jar...or bucket. I just love this cute little container and the color is gorgeous!

Here is my lovely TBR jar…or bucket. I just love this cute little container and the color is gorgeous!

The view from above: I love the way all the colors mix together! It looks so exciting!

The view from above: I love the way all the colors mix together! It looks so exciting!


So, the reason I put different colors in there in the first place was just so my jar would look pretty with all the little strips looking like confetti. Originally, I just had the pink, white, and green slips which are all books that I own that I have not read. However, mid-project I had an epiphany. I decided to add blue strips which are all titles that I want to get from the library to read. The rule is though, if I pick up a blue slip and don’t want to read that book, I am allowed to put it back and choose a new one since the books I own are priority and the library ones are just little bonuses. I then thought about having little rules for all the colors but couldn’t really think of anything else. If you have any ideas for me, I would love to hear them. Just leave me a comment below.
This is all the little pieces dumped out so you can see how many books I STILL need to read!

This is all the little pieces dumped out so you can see how many books I STILL need to read!


As you can see, I have a lot of reading to do. I have roughly over 100 books in my TBR jar so hopefully I will make a dent in them soon. I am not sure when I will pick out of my TBR jar or if I will even do it on a regular basis or just when I feel like it…I’ll have to just wait and see how it goes. I am really excited for the idea, however. If you would like to know what kinds of books I have in my jar, take a look at the “My Bookshelf” page above in the menu.

Thanks for stopping by! I hope to chat with you again soon.
Happy Reading!

4 thoughts on “My TBR Jar

  1. I love this idea! I actually have my TBR list pretty well under control and my system works great for me, but I know of people who have hundreds of books and no clue where to start.

    • Yeah! I am the person that will go out and buy books meaning to read them. Then, I will get distracted by books from the library or books lent to me by friends and the next thing I know, I have a huge stack of books I still haven’t read. I decided it was time to try and tackle some of them.

  2. This looks so cool! I really like the element of surprise you get from randomly picking your next book. (I can totally see myself picking multiple slips though, if I don’t get a book I’m in the mood to read during my first “draw”…)

    • I think I will probably do that a couple times, too. Especially when I am busy with school. I don’t always have the brain power left after doing my homework to read super heavy books sometimes. But that’s okay! I don’t like to force myself to read books when I am not in the mood. It kind of ruins the book for me a little bit.

Leave a Reply

